PO Box 2179 - Stateline NV 89449 - soroptimistslt@gmail.com

This committee’s primary responsibilities are to coordinate the SISLT SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM and YOUTH AWARDS. Academic and vocational scholarships are awarded to graduating seniors from South Tahoe and Whittell High Schools; to LTCC graduates transferring to a four year college; and to students re-entering college and the workplace. In addition to academic scholarships, the committee presents or publicizes the following recognition awards to students at local schools:

  • Young Women of Distinction — Students from South Tahoe and Whittell High Schools are nominated by their teachers and counselors for this outstanding academic and extracurricular achievement award. Recipients and their families are honored at lunch meetings. The frequency of the awards is determined each year by the chairs of this committee in accordance with the availability of club members to coordinate these special programs. Currently, the awards are being made once to twice each year.

Committee chair: 

First NameLast NameCityStateMember of Committee(s)Chairman of
Janey Roeser So. Lake Tahoe CA Human Rights Status of Women Education & Youth
Julia Ward So. Lake Tahoe CA Winetasting Education & Youth

Additional committee members: 

First NameLast NameCityStateMember of Committee(s)Chairman of
Elizabeth Balint So. Lake Tahoe CA Attendance, Education & Youth
Louisa Boone South Lake Tahoe CA Awards, Education & Youth, Winetasting, Budget Allocations
Carolyn MacRae South Lake Tahoe CA Education & Youth, Human Rights Status of Women, Major Projects
Roberta Mason South Lake Tahoe CA Education & Youth
Donna McLelland South Lake Tahoe CA Attendance, Allocations, Education & Youth, Fighting Chance Fighting Chance
Velma Schnoll Glenbrook NV Education & Youth

%d bloggers like this: